Handmade wall clocks

Handmade DIY wall clocks made out of natural or recycled materials.

The wooden farmhouse clock is Pinterest inspired. I found out it was originally designed by AveryStDesignCo – a small business that makes furniture and clocks out of reclaimed wood. I liked it so much that I tried to do one for myself. I used reclaimed wood, cut and sand it and aged it with steel wool and vinegar solution. I painted the outer circle with white chalk paint and finally draw the numbers with black acrylic paint.

dsc_0084

Back side of the clock was treated with vinegar solution as well. My husband cut the recess to hold the clock mechanism.

dsc_0088

This clock is made out of beach stones, that were painted with acrylic paint – green and grey ones. Some stones were covered with gold leaf that was glued on their surface.

Finally I simply hot-glued stones and clock mechanism to the wall, since we do not plan to remove this clock in near future and wanted them to really stick tight. I am not sure if hot-glue will leave any residue to the wall though.

I had an old stack of number stickers that I used to indicate hours. This clock is in the kids room so to make it more playful I used different fonts.

dsc_0080

A really old project. The central part of the clock is made out of an old piece of aluminium. My husband drilled holes in it so the wooden sticks and spheres could be fixed in. On the back side there is a recess for clock mechanism. I painted the wooden parts and pointers on the clock with high gloss paint in different colours.

With some imagination a lot of different natural or recycled materials can be used, making the projects friendly to environment and our pockets.

Leave a Reply

